Panathinaikos basketball
Panathinaikos basketball

Panathinaikos basketball proprietor Dimitris Giannakopoulos declared on Tuesday he is leaving the b-ball group and Panathinaikos basketball it for 25 million euros ($29 million).

Panathinaikos basketball
Panathinaikos basketball

Extremely rich person Giannakopoulos assumed control over the club in 2012 from his dad and uncle and has managed six class titles.

“My family has placed into the group in excess of 450 million euros and we have brought top players and mentors. I’m burnt out on being the main individual who offers cash to the club,” the 46-year-old proprietor of a pharmaceutical firm and an advanced media bunch told a public interview.

“I won’t be an individual from any programming of the group. From today Panathinaikos are available to be purchased. On the off chance that the group need my feelings they will have them. The group must leave the EuroLeague and go to FIBA,” Giannakopoulos included.

They were made in 1919 and alongside Aris Thessaloniki are the main side to have never been consigned from the top division.

The Athens side have won six EuroLeague titles, 38 Greek association titles, 19 Greek Cups, one Intercontinental Cup and two Triple Crowns.

“With the cost of 25 million euros, somebody purchases the best club in Europe, a group that will go to an occasion that can make the game beneficial and that is the reason I accept on the off chance that we go to FIBA we won’t need such a payment,” he said.

“For whatever length of time that we are in the EuroLeague, the pay is extremely constrained and the requirement for subsidizing is extraordinary,” he included.

Giannakopoulos has frequently been a candid pundit of the EuroLeague organization and had been fined various occasions.

The parent athletic club was established in 1908, while the ball group was made in 1919, being one of the most seasoned in Greece. Alongside Aris, they are the main un-consigned groups with cooperation in every Greek First Division Championship until today.

Panathinaikos basketball
Panathinaikos basketball

Panathinaikos basketball has created into the best ball club in Greek b-ball’s history, and one of the best in European b-ball, making its own dynasty. They have won six Euro League Championships, thirty-seven Greek Basket League Championships, nineteen Greek Cups, one Intercontinental Cup and two Triple Crowns. They likewise hold the record for most back to back Greek League titles, as they are the main group to have won nine successive championships (2003–2011)

, just as for the most consecutive Greek Basketball Cup titles, winning six from 2012 to 2017. Panathinaikos basketball checks one more title that occurred in 1921 and was sorted out by the YMCA.

It is anyway not perceived by the Hellenic Basketball Clubs Association, as it was before the formation of the Hellenic Basketball Federation. The group plays its home games in the O.A.C.A. Olympic Indoor Hall, which has a most extreme limit of 19,250 for b-ball games.

Among the various notable top class players who have played with the club throughout the years are Dominique Wilkins, Fragiskos Alvertis, Byron Scott, Nick Galis, John Salley, Dimitris Diamantidis, Antonio Davis, Stojko Vranković, Dino Rađja, šarūnas Jasikevičius, Dejan Bodiroga, Oded Kattash, Ramūnas Šiškauskas, 

Panagiotis Giannakis, Fanis Christodoulou, Alexander Volkov, Marcelo Nicola, Hugo Sconochini, željko Rebrača, Antonis Fotsis, ibrahim Kutluay, John Amaechi, Nikola Peković, Jaka Lakovič, Pepe Sánchez, Kostas Tsartsaris, Mike Batiste, Nick Calathes, Vassilis Spanoulis, Dejan Tomašević, Byron Dinkins, Ferdinando Gentile, Sani Bečirovič, Darryl Middleton

, Lazaros Papadopoulos, žarko Paspalj, Nikos Chatzivrettas, Dimos Dikoudis, Tiit Sokk, Sofoklis Schortsanitis, Jason Kapono, Arijan Komazec, Edgar Jones, Romain Sato, Johnny Rogers, Tony Delk, Drew Nicholas, Stéphane Lasme, Roko Ukić, Robertas Javtokas, Jonas Mačiulis, Ioannis Bourousis, James Gist and Keith Langford.

Such players, the fruitful administration of previous long-lasting presidents Pavlos Giannakopoulos and Thanasis Giannakopoulos, just as the long-term direction of the best mentor in EuroLeague history, željko Obradović, transformed Panathinaikos basketball into the best group in Europe throughout the last more than two decades.

Panathinaikos basketball is the main group on the European landmass to win the same number of as six Euro League titles (1996, 2000, 2002, 2007, 2009, 2011), since the foundation of the cutting edge era EuroLeague Final Four format in 1988 (no other club has won in excess of four EuroLeague titles in this period).

They were also Euro League sprinters up in 2001. They arrived at the Euro League Final Four eleven occasions through and through (1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012).

Panathinaikos basketball
Panathinaikos basketball


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here